2 x CD, 2011

Kanshin is a two CD compilation album that presents a collection of sound design work from some of the scene’s finest artists from across the globe. It has been put together to raise money for the current recovery in Japan following March’s earthquake.

As the sensationalist media broadcasters find other things to talk about in the news, a huge recovery operation is still on-going as we speak. Many people have lost everything. So we decided to put together Kanshin so that via Ian Hawgood, 100% of profit from compilation sales will go directly towards the Japan recovery and on-going relief efforts. Ian is currently living in Japan and has friends who run organisations that are currently working in the Sendai and Yamagata areas rebuilding as well as transporting food, clothing and aid. We felt that any funds we can send this way would probably have more of an impact than donating via one of the larger UK charities.

Ian himself has contributed to the compilation in a collaboration with Peter Jorgensen and through 3 hours and some 30 tracks, the line up that comprises this album is surely as exciting as it gets…

Kanshin is curated by Daniel Crossley (Fluid Radio/Fluid Audio/Facture) and Jonathan Lees (Hibernate/Rural Colours), with invaluable assistance from Ian Hazeldine (Cover art), Wil Bolton (Mastering) and Damian Valles (Digital distribution). This release is made possible by the generosity of all of the artists involved.

Track Listing
  1. Clem Leek – Light Passage ii (Grief)
  2. Hummingbird – Dancing Shadows
  3. Relmic Statute – Lopery
  4. Scissors and Sellotape – Heal
  5. P Jørgensen & Ian Hawgood – Isles
  6. Wil Bolton – Lost In Transit
  7. Field Rotation – A Pondering Silence
  8. Caught In The Wake Forever – Lia Fail (At Dawn)
  9. Damian Valles – Clime
  10. Library Tapes – May (Variation)
  11. Yellow6 – Repeat
  12. Maps & Diagrams with Ylid – Again
  13. Felicia Atkinson – Chaleur Vacante
  14. Hessien – Flightless And Nocturnal
  15. Yann Novak – 3 Surfaces Excerpt 
  16. Offthesky with Ten And Tracer – Therapy Refuge
  17. Orla Wren with Katie English – Swallowtail Yellow
  18. The Moving Dawn Orchestra – We’re Here
  19. Spheruleus – Residue
  20. The Silence Set – So Will Everything We Love
  21. Aaron Martin & Machinefabriek – Utsutsu
  22. Szymon Kaliski – And Longing
  23. Jeremy Bible & Jason Henry – Grainslip
  24. Bengalfuel – Gorgon
  25. David Newlyn – Landscape (iii)
  26. Tom White – Bright Rooms
  27. Listening Mirror – The Cause Of It All
  28. Talvihorros – Perigee
  29. Alex Durlak – Bellows
  30. Antonymes – Kiotsuketene
  31. Kyle Bobby Dunn – Britannia Into Morning